“No Goo” Part One: Deoderant

You may have caught wind of the “poo-free,” “poo-less,” or “no poo” movements. I first heard about it over on Pinterest, and dismissed it as a crunchy granola thing. There’s no way it would work–right? Baking soda and water as shampoo? Maybe for those who don’t mind greasy-tangly-gross locks in the name of being green.

But, recently, I’ve warmed up to the concept and decided that, instead of going “no poo,” I am going “no goo.”

The difference? C’mon, people, open up your bathroom cabinets and have a look. Bottle after bottle of goo (gels, creams, soaps, lotions, serums, etc), amounting to a small fortune. And I know from my day job (managing a natural living retail department) that even the “natural” stuff has really, really terrible ingredients. Thus began my “no goo” journey.

I started with deodorant. This was, to me, probably the most important product to conquer. The conventional stuff has aluminum, which has shown up in the bloodstream after applied to freshly shaven pits. The lymph nodes around that area of the body could easily accumulate toxic levels of the metal. Not good.

But, the “natural” stuff has simply never worked for me. Either I still would stink 5 hours later, or the texture was all wrong. In almost ten years of working in the natural health industry, I hadn’t found a winner.

So, I mixed up a concoction and lovingly named it:

“Underarm Charm” (because “Pit Paste” was already taken)

1/4 cup baking soda
1/4 cup arrowroot powder
4 Tablespoons unrefined coconut oil
12 drops essential oil (I mixed lavender and tea tree oil)
A small jar or tin

Stir together dry ingredients, then add the oils slowly, mixing it all with a fork.
This should yield a good, thick paste. Dump it into your desired container.

To apply, just rub a bit of this into your underarm skin, and, I swear, it has worked amazingly well. I am so, so happy with it.

Image

 

Leave a Reply

