Silver Dollar Pancakes

This morning, my husband said he wanted an “extravagant breakfast.” Since he had really never said this before, I decided to entertain his idea, despite the fact that it’s the middle of the work week and I wouldn’t be able to partake in the extravagance.

You see, my husband is Primal. He eats meats, vegetables, nuts, seeds, and a bit of fruit. That means no grains and legumes–basically, a low carbohydrate lifestyle designed after the ways of pre-agricultural, pre-industrial, paleolithic, or “primal” man. About a year after marriage, he wasn’t liking the rounder guy in the mirror, and decided to make a change. Being the nutrition-obsessed person I am, we found this diet together after much research. We started out going Primal together; he lost 40 lbs and got all kinds of things sorted out with his health. He has never felt better. The incredible results empower him to stick to it: a real display of ideal diet success.

I wish I could say the same of my Primal experience. Immediately after the switch, I gained weight, could not get rid of digestive woes, and just felt sluggish overall. I gave it a good, 6-month shot. And I eventually came full circle, back to being vegan. My husband and I are truly living proof that no one diet works for everyone.

So, this morning, I made him some Primal pancakes, recipe courtesy of Elana’s Pantry, a great blog for grain-free eats.

 

Silver Dollar Pancakes
3 large eggs
1 tablespoon water
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
2 tablespoons agave nectar
1 ½ cups blanched almond flour
¼ teaspoon celtic sea salt
¼ teaspoon baking soda
grapeseed oil, for cooking

  1. In a large bowl whisk together eggs, water, vanilla and agave
  2. Add almond flour, salt and baking soda and mix until thoroughly combined
  3. Heat grapeseed oil on skillet over medium low to medium heat
  4. Scoop 1 heaping tablespoon of batter at a time onto the skillet
  5. Pancakes will form little bubbles, when bubbles open, flip pancakes over and cook other side
  6. Remove from heat to a plate
  7. Repeat process with remaining batter, add more oil to skillet as needed
Leave a Reply

